Aerophobia

Fear of flying is a fear of being on an airplane (aeroplane), or other flying vehicle, such as a helicopter, while in flight. It is also sometimes referred to as aerophobia,aviatophobia, or aviophobia.

I desperately need all of your help. I am not sure when this phobia started or why because when I was younger I was able to fly in planes for family vacations without batting an eyelash. It must be something about getting older really makes you scared of more things. For example, roller coasters, car crashes, and planes all now scare me. Take off and landing are the worst for me by far but any turbulence while in the air also makes me grip the arm rest as hard as I possibly can and clench my  mouth & eyes shut. I am used to the stares from the other passengers at this point 🙂

Thankfully I can still muster up the courage to get on a plane. Last year I went to visit Brooke in Alaska, two years before that I was in Portugal for my 21st, and later this year I will be flying again. I refuse to let my fear stop me from going places (it just takes a Xanax or a couple cocktails at the gate before departure) but regardless of the steps I take to prevent it I still experience a high level of anxiety, crying (sometimes), and always that fun look of sheer panic on my face.

photo

Myself enjoying a mimosa before the long flight to Alaska. The look of terror is already starting! I mean who needs two hands to hold a mimosa? I was trembling here, haha

At the end of this month I will be flying to visit my good friend Katie in Seattle for her birthday. To prepare myself I am starting to envision myself sitting on the plane to make the process a little smoother, right? No. Instantly I feel nauseous, hot, and I start to breathe fast. Not a good start.

So here is where I need your help: I am a firm believer in the power of music and using it to change moods, attitudes, and feelings. It even helps with depression! So I am going to make a playlist for the trip. I cant decide if I want songs to help me remain calm, (Norah Jones -ish) or if I want some songs to pump me up (“Eye of the Tiger” or “Harlem Shake” really gets me going during a workout. Then I would feel all, “Go Sasha you can kick this plane rides ass! In the face!”) But if you would give me some of your favorite song suggestions I could really use them! It will be a 4 hour plane ride & I would like to be distracted for most of them. Really, any suggestions you have would be appreciated.

photo

I actually was in this 10 seater plane flying over Denali National Park in Alaska!! (See, I CAN do it!)

Here’s to hoping that this plane ride goes as smoothly as possible! (Literally, PLEASE GOD DONT LET THERE BE TURBULENCE!)

-Sasha

11 Comments

Filed under Adventures, General

11 responses to “Aerophobia

  1. Sasha,
    As you know, I am afraid of most things, especially heights, so I will be no help there. Music on the other hand I KNOW! Just off the top of my head…
    1. Something so right by Paul Simon
    2. Don’t let me be lonely tonight by James Taylor
    3. St. Judy’s Comet by Paul Simon
    4. Sweet baby James by James Taylor
    These four songs always help me relax! I am in a rush but will look at my ipod later and give you some more suggestions! I am great at relaxing music, even my work out playlists are mellow! HA

  2. First of all, you should have the photo of the wing strut from our flight over the Alaska range up front and center on this post. You don’t give yourself credit, girl! You flew on a 10-seater plane in nowhere Alaska across the highest and most rugged mountain range ON THE CONTINENT without any cocktails or prescriptions. (Can we say turbulence!?!) And, I have proof that you were smiling on the plane.

    Second of all, stop thinking about it. Instead, think about how much fun you are going to have, what outfits you’re going to take, all the frequent flyer miles you’ll get (to come see me later, of course) and how you are going to be a master of packing for a weekend trip. Stop thinking about it! It’s no big deal.

    Third, if you make plans to come within three hours of me again without giving me a chance to come meet up with you, I might just ring that pretty little neck of yours. 😉

    OK, now to honor your request of providing in-flight entertainment. To me, the worst part of flying across the country is that third and fourth hour of the flight. The music you brought is now lame, the book has lost it’s interest, your neck hurts from trying to sleep on the window, and the dude next to you keeps farting. During these two hours, it’s completely necessary to have either a movie to watch, a magazine to read (that you haven’t cracked until this critical point), or some loud, crazy-ass, snap-you-out-of-the-boredom music. The Ray LaMontagne and Dave Matthews no longer do it, you hate the sound of Adele and Norah Jones’ voices, and hip-hop just makes you realize how much you can’t move. Try something you normally don’t download. For my flight in a few weeks, for example, I plan to download and blast some trashy country a la Miranda Lambert during the dreaded fourth hour.

    Oh, and Sade, Smooth Operator, and Chris Isaak, Wicked Game, will ease you into that cocktail at the gate. Just make sure you actually get on the plane… I have a friend who missed her flight to Anchorage because she a) is super anxious about flying, b) took a Xanax before the flight, and c) passed out at the gate. Don’t do that. Have fun!

    • I was thinking about that, maybe the tinier the plane the cozier? Haha I still cant believe I did that! Totally worth it. But your right – maybe Im psyching myself out thinking about it too early I need to just let it happen. & I thought I did tell you I was going!! Ill only be there for 3 nights its a short trip but I promise if I am ever within 3 hours of you again I will make sure you are first to know! It will be fun you will have to give me some recommendations. That should be on the list of 2014 trips, us all meet in Seattle for a few days! I am almost certain I will love it there. I love that you said ” the dude next to you keeps farting ” haha! I will have to pre-download a movie on my Ipod for that 3rd & 4th hour but arent they only good for 24 hours? I need to look into that. Ill rent something like Bridesmaids so I can be that obnoxious person on the plane that cant stop laughing and no one knows why!

      I promise I will not pass out at the gate on Xanax. Hahaha! But I will be traveling alone so good tip for sure. (Note to self: Set phone alarm so I don’t pass out at the gate & miss my flight) 😉 Thanks for the all the tips!

    • & I also have been into some country music lately! Zac Brown is a must. I will download some of Miranda’s new stuff what is the name of her band?

  3. jeannealpers

    Fears are not to be taken lightly but we are our own worst enemy when it comes to fears. Our imagination goes wild. Now I know Brooke seems very brave but you should have seen her as a child during a thunderstorm. It was a must that she be held tight during all thunderstorms. She would have cold sweets, shake, rock, hide in my arms and cry. She was a total mess. She conquered that fear and you can conquer yours.
    Sasha, you are not afraid of flying….that’s the good part. You are afraid of crashing so here are the facts: If a passenger boarded a flight at random, once a day, everyday, it would statistically be over 21,000 years before he or she would be killed. The odds are in your favor to have a very safe flight. Remember you drive in Atlanta and you get through that everyday. Now poof! Your fears are gone and you’ll be listening to some awesome music along the way. I’ll say big prayers that God takes your fears away and leaves you with total calmness that only He can bring your way. You can do it! Yes, you can!

    • I think you hit the nail on the head, its not the flying that scares me I am scared of crashing! I like all of those statistics too, I will have to remember that on my flight, it does make me feel a little better hearing that 🙂 Thank you Jeanne!

  4. Ahhh Sasha it breaks my heart to feel so helpless. Here is the deal. God is your co-pilot. AND with HIM you can do ANYTHING. Try some praise songs that you remember from way back when. You will be amazed how shedding some light into that dark fear can really help you out. HE is always my source of strength when i know i can’t or am afraid about something. I can’t but with HIM i can. I will definitely be praying for you as you are on your trip but now more than ever i will be focused on the “Ride” and that is what this is. A ride. You got this girl! You are braver than you think. Saying it out loud is half the battle and you have it in print. When you get ready to leave start Thanking God for everything you can think of
    This opportunity to see a childhood friend. A healthy body. An opportunity to be at a new place and have a grand adventure. Thankful for the mountains that will surround you. Thankful you have a job and can afford this adventure. Thankful you have a great boyfriend who supports your adventure. Thankful for your family that loves you unconditionally. Thankful…. well you get the idea. Prayer changes things. Up in your room i still have the Bible verse that you claimed so long ago. “God did not give us a spirit that makes us afraid. He gave us a spirit of power and love and self control” 2 Timothy 1:7 Write it down and take that with you!!

    • You are so right! & I am thankful for everything this trip will be a great time I am very thankful I have sweet lifelong friends like Katie. That is a great verse I do love it I will write that down now and bring it with me. Also downloading some Jaci Valesquez right now 🙂 Thanks momma

  5. Sherri B.

    Sasha, you’ll have to tell me what helped you the most on this trip. I have irregular bouts of claustrophobia and planes can be an issue. Doug and I are going on our Alaska visit in a couple of months and, like you, I’ve already been planning my distractions. I’ve done long flights and I’ve been to AK before so I logically know I can do it. But, We know our reactions are irrational but they are real physical responses and we do have to work through them. I hope your trip was wonderful!!!!

    • Well thankfully both planes rides were very smooth and could not have gone better for me. The music really helped, also I slept quite a lot on the way there and on the way back it was nighttime for half of the flight so that seemed to help as well. Things totally out of my control. Maybe getting an earlier flight so you can sleep some would be a good idea. You guys will have a wonderful time in Alaska!

Leave a Reply

