Sasha’s Detox Smoothie

Sasha is trying to maintain a healthier lifestyle and recently did her first ever detox juice cleanse for three days. She’s such a rock star — the only detox diets I’ve done have lasted about 12 hours…until I’m mean and hungry for dinner. Go Sasha!

Juicer

Juicer20130212_205444

Ingredients

Combine in a blender (or really fancy juicer as pictured) and mix on high:

1 cup kale leaves

1 cup spinach

1 cucumber (Tons of benefits, including hydration & loaded with B vitamins)

1 stalk celery

1 carrot, peeled

1 Bosc pear (or apple if you prefer)

1 lemon

½ cup fresh parsley (which is great for cleansing your blood!)

& whatever other fruits or veggies you have lying around. Strawberries or a kiwi are more great additions

solids on the left, healthy yummy juices on the right

Pulp on the left, healthy yummy juice on the right

The detox consisted of consuming this juice her meals for three days. After it, Sasha felt like a new (and clean!) woman!

Insta-Juice!

Insta-Juice!

-Update from Sasha:

Great enthusiasm from Brooke! But those three days were not that fun. I had such a major headache from the caffeine withdrawals and my skin broke out from all the “toxins” exiting through my pores. But hey I stuck it out! It was a good way to kick-start my healthier lifestyle and I think essential for myself in getting started, but I would much rather practice healthy eating habits every day & maybe the occasional 24 hour detox. I don’t see how people do these juice diets for 14 days. More power to them! Nonetheless this is a great juice/smoothie recipe and is loaded with good stuff for you! & yummy 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking & Eating, Health and Beauty

Leave a Reply

