Multi-Vitamin Smoothie

I’m generally a healthy person, but I loathe multi-vitamins. For starters, they make me feel nauseous. Secondly,  half of them don’t fully dissolve before moving through your system. (Check by placing your vitamin in a half-cup of vinegar for 45 minutes. If it’s not dissolved there, it won’t dissolve in your belly.) And third, a diverse, healthy diet provides all the vitamins you need. (Trust me, I did research on the entire multivitamin ingredient list.) So instead of taking a huge, nasty pill, I make a vitamin smoothie every morning that gives me the same “good stuff” that I would get from a vitamin and provides me with a healthy, quick, eat-on-the-go breakfast. (Bonus: it’s one of the few breakfast meals that actually keeps me full until noon.)

This morning's blended vitamin smoothie

This morning’s blended vitamin smoothie

This is my recipe, which inevitably varies towards the end of the week when I run out of one thing or another.

Combine in a blender, and blast on high:

1 cup  pomegranate juice (vitamin K, vitamin E, B vitamins, antioxidants)

1 cup  baby spinach leaves (vitamin K, vitamin A, vitamin C, and a slough of other good compounds)

1 cup frozen blueberries (antioxidants, fiber, Vitamin C)

1/2 to 1 cup plain greek yogurt (20 grams of protein)

1  banana (potassium and mellow, creamy flavor to compliment the tartness of the berries and pomegranate)

1 Tbsp flax seeds (omega-3 fatty acids, lignan, fiber)

If I’m feeling sweet, I’ll add about a tbsp of honey or agave nectar.

1/4 to 1/2 cup water (just enough to make the blender go)

Pour into your favorite water bottle, and out the door you go.

When available, use organic ingredients. Why organic? First, craw out from under that rock. Then, educate yourself. Even if you can’t eat all organic, there are some foods (and other items) that are more importantly organic than others.

Confession: At lunch today, my husband asked why my nose was bleeding. It turned out that it wasn’t bleeding. I had been wearing a splash of smoothie on it all morning. Watch out for that!

In addition to this daily smoothie, the list of staples at my house includes other foods that round out all the recommended daily supplements on the back of that multi-vitamin label: salmon (Alaskan wild caught!), lots of leafy greens, a variety of fruits, bell peppers, avocados, tofu and other soy products, eggs, brown rice, nuts, dark chocolate, and quinoa (Laura provided a great quinoa recipe a few weeks ago).

Sasha and Laura, what smoothie recipes have you tried recently? I know you’ve done it b/c I’ve seen your green concoctions on Instagram!

6 Comments

Filed under Cooking & Eating, Health and Beauty

6 responses to “Multi-Vitamin Smoothie

  1. I agree with you about Multi Vitamins 100%! All they do is make expensive pee! If I buy them I get the gummy ones. That recipie sounds good! The one I used for most of my detox was:

    1 cup kale leaves
    1 cup spinach
    1 cucumber (Tons of benefits, including hydration & loaded with B vitamins)
    1 stalk celery
    1 Bosc pear (or apple if you prefer)
    1 lemon (this adds a really nice kick, I love tart!)

    It’s very filling as well. I have these Popsicle molds I got at Target & will fill them with diff smoothies and freeze. They are quick & easy for those rushed mornings.

  2. Yum Brooke. I’d drink that!! I never thought about gummy vitamins digesting better but how obvious. Good move Sasha~

  3. Before you know it you girls will have sponsors with all this great information. I am totally enjoying the blog!!!

  4. This post is awesome! I also hate multi vitamins!
    Sasha, I totally agree with you too, about the expensive pee! HA!
    I try and make a smoothie every morning unless I am running late!
    I never really measure anything I put in them and I usually use whatever I have in my fridge at the time!
    Here are some of the ingredients I use in mine:

    Greek Yogurt (plain): I always use it because of the protein and it makes for a good binder

    Berries of all kinds: I use blueberries, strawberries, blackberries and raspberries. (Mostly
    fresh and sometimes frozen raspberries)

    Steel cut oats: I love the taste of oatmeal in a smoothie and the protein fills me up

    Flax Seeds: I like to use flax as well, Brooke!

    Banana: I like to cut up my bananas and freeze them so I don’t have to use ice

    Almond Milk, Coconut milk or water for moisture

    Avocado: Sometimes I throw in an avocado and it makes a really nice smooth texture and an awesome bright green color! If I have any random veggies or fruits that need to be eaten I will throw them in there, too!

    Brooke, PLEASE explain the importance of buying organic to your brother! He is so stubborn and cheap about it! I keep telling him that we spend all this money on our cars for maintenance when the average person has 11 cars in their life time but we only have ONE body!! He will listen to you!

Leave a Reply

