This is not a sad post.

Really, I promise. Yesterday would have been my grandmother, Jennie’s, birthday. She was my only grandparent and was a very important woman in my life. I miss her dearly. Now I said this was not a sad post, and its not. Its just the time of year that always makes me think of her, especially since it is Mardi Gras as well and we always would stay with her for the festivities. Funerals in New Orleans are a bit different, yes there is the part in the funeral home that is always very sad and time for everyone to say their goodbyes, but after that it is a party. A celebration of your loved ones life, there is food, dancing, drinking, celebrating. So that’s what I am doing, sharing my celebration of my grandmother with you. This is a picture of a essay I wrote in my senior year of high school for my senior scrapbook about who I wish I could see again. (You have to click on it to enlarge so you can read it) Enjoy!

Jennie

Getting a tattoo with my mom & sister in memory of my grandmother at a tattoo shop in the parish she lived in.

Getting a tattoo with my mom & sister in memory of my grandmother at a tattoo shop in the parish she lived in.

 

The finished product.

The finished product.

My mom choose to get hers on her ankle.

My mom choose to get hers on her ankle.

Ben & I are on there somewhere going on a tour of the Quarters, I think this was our first trip to New Orleans together!

Ben & I are on there somewhere going on a tour of the Quarters, I think this was our first trip to New Orleans together!

Ben & I during Mardi Gras with my nephew Jackson, he was so small then!

Ben & I during Mardi Gras with my nephew Jackson, he was so small then!

Sir Saint & I! (the Saints mascot)

Sir Saint & I! (the Saints mascot)

Sherri (my second mom) my sister Tamara, and I two years ago during Mardi Gras

Sherri (my second mom) my sister Tamara, and I two years ago during Mardi Gras

My mom and I and some of our CRAZY family :)

My mom and I and some of our CRAZY family 🙂

My FAVORITE parade, Endymion. all the floats are lit up, its a must-see!

My FAVORITE parade, Endymion. all the floats are lit up, its a must-see!

Another oldie.. Us on Bourbon St!

Another oldie.. Us on Bourbon St!

 

 

– Sasha

5 Comments

Filed under Memories

5 responses to “This is not a sad post.

  1. I didn’t realize that was why/when you got that tattoo. What a fun celebration of life! You and Ben look so young.

  2. Sasha, I loved your paper about your grandmother. She sounded like an amazing woman and I loved the way you described her! We really need to take a trip to New Orleans, I would love to learn more about your families culture. You should learn some of your grandmother’s recipes so you can always keep them going. I would love to try the baked mac and cheese! Great post!

    • We should plan on going to Mardi Gras next year it’s something you have to experience at least once! I would love if you came!! & my sister has the baked Mac n cheese recipe we should make it soon it is delicious

      • I would love to come to Mardi Gras next year! We should def plan that trip FOR SURE! Get the baked mac n cheese recipe and the next time we do dinner we will make it and we will blog about it!

Leave a Reply

