The Power of Apple Cider Vinegar

As a little reminder to myself I have decided to dedicate an entire blog to the powers of apple cider vinegar! Hopefully this blog will inspire me to begin using the wonder liquid once again! I used to drink it every morning while I was in college but I had forgotten all about it and its magical powers, until a friend reminded me! I actually still have the same bottle I used back in college and since I graduated in 2009 I think I will pick up a new bottle the next time I go to the grocery store! I’ve always used the organic brand “Bragg” which seems to be the most popular but there are other brands as well. You can find it in all major grocery stores in the same isle as all the other vinegars. It is pretty inexpensive and the benefits are out of this world!

There are lots of different studies and literature out there on the affects of apple cider vinegar but I am not going to use any sources for the purpose of this blog. I only know what my own experiences are and that is what this blog is all about! So below you can read the health benefits that I have personally experienced from ACV!

When I first started drinking ACV I did it because I heard that it would help you lose weight and keep you from overeating. Each morning I would mix about 2 or 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar with about 8 oz of water and CHUG! Brace yourself because ACV is not the tastiest liquid in the world, I mean after all it is vinegar, so the more water the better! I never drank it without mixing it with water being that it is so acidic and I didn’t want to take the enamel off my teeth! I also made sure to not brush right after drinking it (like red wine) so that I didn’t brush my pearly whites away! Eventually you will get used to the strong tart taste and it won’t even bother you, especially once you start to notice the benefits of this miracle vinegar! After drinking this mixture every morning for a couple of weeks I noticed some major improvements in my health and appearance!untitled

1. Clear skin
Right away I noticed a dramatic difference in my skin tone. My skin looked more radiant and dewy. It was plumper and almost seemed to glow. The number of breakouts I would have significantly decreased as well, almost to none! My skin is super sensitive and sometimes gets really red and looks like it has rosacea and this seemed to go away completely! I started to actually put the ACV and water mixture (equal parts) directly on my face as a tonic which also seemed to work really well. It seemed to shrink my pores some and clean the grime out. I would of course wash my face afterwards to get rid of that vinegar smell.
2. Shiny hair
I also noticed that my hair started to look very shiny! I started using the ACV in the winter time when my hair was lacking luster from very little exposure to sunlight, so I noticed the change right away. I haven’t tried this yet, but I have heard that if you mix equal parts of ACV and water in a spray bottle, spray it on your hair and let it sit for about 5-10 minutes before rising that you will get instant shine and lustrous locks!
3. Boosted energy
I noticed that my morning mixture of ACV and water would give me a huge boost of energy. As an overworked college student who never slept more than 4 or 5 hours a night I needed any extra boost I could get. I started to incorporate the ACV into my morning smoothies too, which really takes most of the tart taste away.

Here are some more Apple Cider Vinegar tips that I have heard over the years that may be worth researching!
1. Always buy the organic kind with no chemicals or preservatives
2. May help with heartburn by restoring acid balance
3. May be good for bone health being that it has an abundance of magnesium, potassium and calcium
4. May get rid of warts- soak a cotton ball with ACV and secure to the wart with a band aid or tape and wear nightly until it goes away
5. May benefit people with diabetes
6. May help with weight loss
7. May help lower blood pressure
8. May decrease cholesterol levels
9. May help improve symptoms of arthritis
10. May help improve allergy symptoms

7 Comments

Filed under Health and Beauty

7 responses to “The Power of Apple Cider Vinegar

  1. What! I would have never guessed ACV could do all of that. I’ll try to get up the courage to try it…. Ooh, I wonder if the apple cider we made this winter will do the same (15% alcohol by vol!) http://wp.me/p2wfaN-2W.

  2. A girl I work with drinks this & molasses too! She swears by them both though but I never knew you could use it as a toner too good idea! I’ll have to buy some if it can do all this it’s worth the bad taste. I def need something to help clear my skin up lately! Even though the concoction my friend makes at work smells like ass ill try it! Can you just drink it like a shot though?

  3. I’ve been playing around with ACV as a toner as well as a hair rinse, but have not braved myself to start taking it internally. I think you might have inspired me to try!

Leave a Reply

